History of the ESLGA

The European Senior Women's Team Championships have historically been organised by the ESWGA, the European Senior Women's Golf Association.


In 1981 Marisa Sgaravatti, an Italian Marchioness, started to create tournaments between three countries in Europe. She loved the game of golf, and she played in numerous competitions all over Europe. It was thanks to her that the first Female Senior European tournament took place.


In 1984 Anne Bouton, France, suggested starting a European Team Tournament. The ESWGA was established and has since organized this competition annually.


In 2006 the European Senior Team Championship was accepted by the EGA thanks to Anne Bouton with the help of Johnny Storjohann, former General Secretary of the European Golf Association.




Since then, the EGA has taken over the organisation of the European Senior Women's Team Championship, which was organised by the ESWGA from 1984-2005. Since then, the ESLGA has organised the Marisa Sgaravatti Trophy and, from 2014, the Masters Team Championship.
Anne Bouton was President of the ESWGA from its inception in 1984 until she stepped down in 2009.
As the ESWGA has never been officially recognised, it was decided at the delegates' meeting in Helsinki on 17 July 2012 to draw up statutes for the association and official rules for the tournament.
At the same time it was decided to change the name of the organisation to ESLGA, the European Senior Ladies' Golf Association.
The ESLGA is based in Lausanne, Switzerland.