History of the European Senior Ladies’ GOLF Association – ESLGA

The European Team Championships for Senior Ladies were historically organized by ESWGA, the European Senior Women’s Golf Association.

In 1981 Marisa Sgaravatti, an Italian Marchioness, started to create tournaments between three countries in Europe. She loved the game of golf and she played in numerous competitions all over Europe. It was thanks to her that the first Female Senior European tournament took place.

In 1984 Anne Bouton suggested to start a European Team Tournament. The ESWGA was born.

The Winners of the European Tournament

Year       Place                                        Country                Winner

1984      Le Touquet  Golf Club      France                   England

1985      Golfclub Broekpolder       Netherlands       France

1986      Ljunghusens Golfklubb    Sweden                 France

1987      Campo de Golf El Saler    Spain                      France

1988      Acqua Santa Golf Club    Italy                        Sweden

1989      Golf Club  Montreux        Switzerland          England

1990      Golf Club Weissenberg   Germany               England